finished eulogy

I’ve been invited to do his eulogy…this should be interesting as I am so not a public speaker…

So many people loved my dad…Honest Rog.
He was always there to lend a helping hand to his many friends, family, his kids and especially his grandkids and his great grandkids.

Our loss is still too fresh right now but one day we will all be able to reminisce about dad with fewer tears and gentle smiles.
Dad riding the hay down when the hayloft collapsed.
Dad in his uniform looking all spiffy for the legion.
Dad saying no-no-no when we put brand new babies on him but him hugging them nonetheless.
Calling mom horrid pet names but always with love in his eyes.
Singing along with Slim Witman in the truck on the way to the cattle yards…dad never quite hit those high notes…not for a lack of trying.
Dad com bossin’ the cows for supper.
Buppa huggin the kids (little and adult) goodbye and slipping them money…shhh don’t tell your mother…
Dad giving big gentle bear hugs and whispering in our ears that he loved us and would see us soon.

Dad, you touched so many hearts in so many ways.
You’ve been counted in my blessings ever day.
You’ll always live in a room in my heart filled with shades of plaid, perfect dove joints, phone hook ups and love.
Thank you dad, for becoming my dad.
I’ll miss you every day.

I’d like to close with a poem:

There is nothing I can do,
to make him come back
There are no words I can say,
that can replace the words you will long to hear
There are no answer’s I can give,
that will satisfy your questions
There is not another soul I can introduce you to that will ever replace his
And, there is no love I can offer that will ever replace the love you shared
I can not promise your broken heart will ever be complete
I will not say it could have been worse
I will not deny this is a tragedy
I will not lie and tell you he will come back
He never really left
I do promise he hears you when you speak
I will say he loves you no matter the distance
I will not deny he is in a better place
And, I will not lie; he is waiting to greet you someday
Roger is every you step you take
Roger is in everything you do
Roger is the air you breathe
Roger is every beat of your heart
“Roger is like the wind. You can not see him…but you will always feel him”

Leave a Reply

