gearing up for a sewrific weekend

Angels sets flipped and patiently waiting to be top stitched…I have a few more set of teeny diapers to completed before all these angel sets will be ready to get their cap and be packaged… October 17th 2013

Shamus wondering why I’m sitting on the floor talking like a duck to him… October 16th 2013

Antique hankies drying after a good long soak to brighten them up…the 2 with clothes pins won’t be becoming bonnets as one has holes and the other has a pesky nose stain I can’t remove…the rest however will be lightly starched, ironed and made into bonnets this weekend. October 17th 2013

Just a Little Hankie

I am just a little hankie,

As square as can be;
But with a stitch or two,

They’ve made a bonnet out of me.
I’ll be worn home from the hospital, and on special days,
And then I’ll be carefully pressed and neatly packed away.
Then on the wedding, I have been told,
Every well dressed Bride must have something old.
So what would be more fitting than to find Little Old Me,
A few stitches snipped and a wedding handkerchief I will be!
And if per chance, it is a boy, someday he still will wed.
So to his spouse he can present the handkerchief once worn upon his head!

Newest flannel finds at JoAnn Fabrics! 10 fat quarters will make 5 angel sets with 2 teeny diapers and 1 wee lovie each. And 10 yards of flannel that will make 5 newborn receiving blankets and 5 angel sets. I just love the lime green buffalo plaid! Thanks to eagle eye Jazmin right before I paid for it all she saw that there were intermittent tiny blue dots on the pink stars flannel…we went back to get a different piece of the same fabric and found that about 4 yards of the pink stars had these tiny blue dots…thankfully when we started looking at a new bolt of the same print there were no blue dots.  One just cannot have blue dots just showing up hibbly jibbly on your pink on white stars…

Looks like I have a bit of ironing, cutting and sewing in my future! October 17th 2013

Leave a Reply

